Live from Technology Services World Las Vegas

Greetings from TSW Las Vegas at the Mirage. I’m hiding in a conference room to write a quick blog about what’s been going on today before heading to my next session. First of all, a big THANK YOU to everyone for making this our biggest event ever! Around 950 people, and these attendees are engaged: when everyone shows up at 7am for breakfast so they aren’t late for the first session you know you have a dedicated audience!

Tuesday is typically my crazy day at the conference, and today is no exception. I started with breakfast meetings with members and partners, then my “Power Hour” session on Knowledge Anywhere: The Mobile Enterprise at 9:45am. I was very pleased to have a full room to talk about the findings from my 3-part research series on mobility and service. The first piece focused on KM and search, the 2nd on field service automation, and the third piece, just published today, covers productivity tools and the future of mobility. I had a good mix of members and partners in the session, and had time for a few partners to talk about their mobile vision (thanks to CitrixOnline, Qualtech Systems and RightAnswers for speaking up!). I also enjoyed telling my customer service nightmare story that caused me to break the iPhone habit once and for all last week and move to a droid phone (so far I love the much more usable Samsung Captivate Galaxy S).

Right after my breakout session was my first innovation tour, and we had a good crowd to visit each of the Recognized Innovator finalist’s booths for a 7 minute demo, and a drawing for an iPod shuffle. Tour attendees also vote for ‘best innovation demo.’ At the awards ceremony tomorrow I’ll present the Recognized Innovator Awards and the award for best demo.

Following lunch is another Innovation Tour, a breakout session I’m moderating on “The New Frontier of Services Alliances” with Erna Arnesen, Vice President, WW Services Alliances, Cisco Systems, and then I’ll close out the day doing interviews on the Solution Stage in the Expo.

I’ve also had some interesting 1:1 meetings with members, some of whom are here shopping for technology. So far, the hot topic has been reporting, analytics and dashboarding, which is a tricky area because A) there aren’t a lot of standalone vendors since they have all been acquired, B) many packaged tools don’t integrate easily with home grown or legacy systems, and C) some vendors keep lying and saying their basic reporting module is an ‘analytics’ package, which only confused everyone.

Stay tuned for more conference updates, and thanks for reading!

Explore posts in the same categories: Technology

Tags: ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

